Go’Nuts for (Gluten-Free) Do’Nuts!

doughnuts

Everything – and I mean EVERYTHING – is 100% more adorable (and delicious) when it’s in miniature form.

…incidentally, did you know that I’m only 5ft tall? Point proven. Ahem.

Baked goods are particularly appealing when condensed into bite-sized pieces; not only can you can eat more of them, but you can eat more of them in one fell swoop.

Why not make an occasion of it and hold a competition for family & friends to see who can fit the most doughnuts in their cakehole? Any excuse for excessive doughnut consumption; yes please!

“GO’NUTS FOR DO’NUTS!”.

doughnuts3

I actually found my doughnuts pans when I embarked on a summer-clean of the kitchen cupboards (spring bypassed me before I could blink). They were loaned to me by my BFF’s mum eons ago, and I’d quite forgotten about them. Fabi, if you’re reading, I’ll buy you new ones!

Brushing the dust off these tins, I felt a little guilt for my unintentional neglect. But then, I had an epiphany. Why not make some cute baby donuts for an upcoming Dinner Party (a.k.a Eat ALL the Food & Drink ALL the Wine Party)? Though I don’t need an excuse to bake, it’s sensible to have one or else I find my waistline beginning to suffer…

These downsized doughnuts were so incredibly EASY and quick to make. They made their way from mixing-bowl to mouth in thirty minutes. And the entire plate was cleared in less than three, thanks to a sibling who is 5’10” with an insatiable appetite.

doughnutsuncooked

doughtnutscooked

These are ideal for when you have a hankering for something delightfully naughty, but don’t want to blow your sugar-free lifestyle into the stratosphere. You’re using a mere 70g of sugar so the dough isn’t especially sweet – that’s a role filled by your chosen topping(s) –  and because these are baked as opposed to fried, your arteries will thank you. As will your scales. And your tastebuds.

You’re so welcome.

The doughnuts are beautifully light, wonderfully moist and have a subtle taste of vanilla. And they’re awfully addictive – you have been warned!

doughtnuts5

They’re also incredibly photogenic, aren’t they? Sigh, so pretty.

I find that decorating is one of the things I enjoy most with baking, and these diddy doughnuts offer ample opportunity to get creative. To keep things simple, I just dipped mine in a bowl of melted chocolate and then added sprinkles. However, if you’re feeling fancy then feel free to make a maple syrup glaze, coat in cinnamon-sugar or drizzle with salted caramel. Mmm!

As this is a fairly neutral vanilla doughnut recipe, I imagine that it would work well as a starting point for flavoured doughnuts. I’m already planning a Lemon Doughnut, made with lemon extract and finished with a lemon glaze & sunshine yellow sprinkles.

doughnuts4

I’ve made these doughnuts gluten-free, as a dear friend of mine is severely intolerant (she is the previous recipient of my Lemon & Gin Cake), and is often saddened by the lack of baked good available for her consumption. I’ve made it my mission to feed ALL my friends, not just the ones with conventional digestive systems.

An important note re: the gluten-free flour. In this recipe, I’ve used a custom blend of rice flour and tapioca starch rather then a general gluten-free blend. I actually tested the recipe with a shop-bought blend, and the result was a still edible-but-chewy-slightly-gummy sponge. It did not receive my seal of approval.

Do not disappoint your tastebuds; stick to the recipe (with recommended & tested substitutions) to achieve that airy, moist and delicious doughnut.

What other baked goods have you made into mini-mes? Let me know in the comments below.

ps. I’d like to gave a big THANK YOU to my favourite person in the world for lending me His super-swish DSLR so I can finally take some pretty pictures for my blog. It’s made a world of a difference! YOU’RE THE BEST.

Gluten-Free Vanilla Mini-Doughnuts 
(makes 24 mini-doughnuts)

Ingredients 

  • 96g white rice flour (can sub for brown rice flour) *
  • 30g tapioca starch/flour (can sub for cornflour/cornstarch, though this will yield a slightly heavier doughnut)
  • 70g golden granulated sugar
  • 30g vanilla pudding mix **
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp xantham gum
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 60ml vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 60ml buttermilk ***
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 160C. Grease the doughnut tins. Set to one side.
  2. Whisk all the dry ingredients (flours, sugar, pudding mix, xantham gum, baking powder & salt) in a small bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk the buttermilk, oil, eggs and vanilla extract.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix until combined. The mixture will be slightly thick but still gloopy, with a slight gummy texture.
  5. Spoon the mixture into a piping bag with the end snipped off, and carefully fill the doughnut pans with the mixture. Make sure not to overfill, as the doughnuts do rise quite a lot. You want to fill the pans halfway, and you only want to go round the circle once – scroll up to see a picture!
  6. Bake for 9-11 minutes, or until very slightly golden brown. They will still be quite pale, but should be springy to the touch. Overbaking them will dry them out, so make sure to keep an eye on them.
  7. Leave to cool for 5 minutes in the pan before turning out onto a wire rack.
  8. When completely cool, decorate as desired.

* If you’re not gluten-free, sub for 120g plain flour
** I buy mine from a Polish shop – it’s called “Budyn”. Polish shops are plentiful in the UK, but if you dont live near one I’m not entirely sure of an UK alternative. Possibly Angel Delight? It needs to be a powdered pudding mix.
*** This is an ESSENTIAL component to ensure a moist doughnut. If you don’t have buttermilk to hand you can make your own by adding 1/2 tsp – 1 tsp of an acid (lemon juice or white vinegar) to 60ml of milk and letting it sit for 5 minutes.

Leave a Reply

