Macmillian Coffee Morning Munchies!

Just a brief post from me today, dear reader(s)! I very much subscribe to the sentiments of teasing & tantilising, leaving my audience hungry for MORE.

…or, quite simply, I’ve been unintentionally neglectful of late and have failed to gather enough content for a proper post.

Anyway, tomorrow is Macmillian’s Coffee Morning, taking place in offices & homes nationwide. It’s an opportunity for us to wage a yummy, calorie-laden war on cancer, using cakes & bakes as our delectably delicious weapons.

salted caramel choc and gingerbread

As you know by now, I relish any opportunity to bake and so, naturally, have my offering ready for battle!

Feeding the hard-working staff of the Dulwich Picture Gallery tomorrow, will be decadently dark chocolate cupcakes, filled with homemade salted caramel & topped with whipped vanilla buttercream.

salted caramel choc

My all-time-favourite-forever-until-I-die-chocolate-cupcake recipe is intensely chocolately, and not as sweet as most other chocolate sponges I’ve tried. I much prefer it – and I’ve never had any complaints – and it means you’re able to team it with unbearably sweet toppings without keeling over in a sugar-induced coma.

Alongside this chocolate-lover’s dream, is a deceptively understated and simple cupcake; gingerbread topped with cream cheese frosting.

gingerbread

gingerbread closeup

I’m one of these people who simply ADORE spice and flavour, especially in my baked goods. Pairing this flavoursome, warming cupcake with a sweetly tangy cream cheese frosting is honestly, heaven. Creamy, lightly-spiced heaven. The crumb is airy-light and delicate, contrasting with the heavier and indulgent frosting. I even might prefer this over the chocolate salted caramel!

eaten gingerbread

Leave a comment if you’re also taking part in Macmillian’s Coffee Morning; I’d love to read your posts about it.

Happy Caking!

Leave a Reply

